Coloquio 2022 – AI RAI

PhD. Jetzabeth Ramírez Sabag

Treasurer of the Academy of Engineering of Mexico

She is a civil engineer (1980), master (1988) and doctor in petroleum engineering (1992), by the Faculty of Engineering of the UNAM. She has a specialty in Geothermal Reservoir Engineering from the Latin American Energy Organization (1984).

She has been a researcher at the Instituto de Investigaciones Eléctricas (1982-1988), and at the Instituto Mexicano del Petróleo (1999-2021). In the latter she served as Project Leader, Technological Leader, Specialty Leader and Technical Project Manager of the Conacyt Sener Hydrocarbons Sectorial Fund, FSCSH.

She has been a professor, undergraduate and graduate, of the Faculty of Engineering of the UNAM, 1981-2018, of 10 different subjects, participated in the creation of the subject of Applied Mathematics to Petroleum Engineering of the Postgraduate, as well as in the creation of the Specialties of Enhanced Recovery and Drilling Engineering.

She was a professor of the Graduate Program of the Mexican Petroleum Institute, she collaborated since the creation of the Graduate Program of IMP, in the Subject Area of Hydrocarbon Exploitation. She also participated in the creation of the only joint IMP-FIUNAM postgraduate program.

She is a member of the Academy of Engineering of Mexico, of the Commission of Specialty of Petroleum Engineering (2008- ), has collaborated as Secretary of her Specialty, Secretary of the Academy, and currently as Treasurer of the Academy.

She has been a National Researcher of the National System of Researchers of Conacyt (Candidate, 1990-1994, Level 1, 2006-2012 and Level 2, 2013-2021).

She is a member of the Technical Council of the Agency for Safety, Energy and Environment, ASEA.

Jetzabeth Ramirez has been a pioneer in several aspects: she is the first woman in Mexico to obtain a Master’s degree in Petroleum Engineering and in addition to being the first doctor in Petroleum Engineering, she was the first woman to take the First Doctoral Examination in Petroleum Engineering of the only postgraduate program in this area in Mexico; she was also the first postgraduate professor in Petroleum Engineering.

Additionally, she is a pioneer and leading researcher in Mexico on the subject of tracer testing in reservoirs, her research work for her master’s and doctoral thesis were the first developed in Mexico on this subject. In 1999 she was hired by the Mexican Petroleum Institute to open a research line on tracer flow in naturally fractured reservoirs. She formed a work team, consolidated a line of knowledge and business. She executed several research and industrial application projects, which generated technological developments that she herself has implemented with great success in fields of the South and Northeast Marine Regions of PEMEX PEP; she transformed the international practice of tracer testing. She generated an innovative integral product, technologically superior to that of foreign companies; additionally, she developed infrastructure, both computer tools, as well as laboratory and field equipment, of which the following stand out: the Mobile Tracers Laboratory, TRAZAMÓVIL®, and an In-Line Tracers Measurement equipment, EMELITRA®.

Jetzabeth Ramirez’s contributions are documented through 9 granted patents, and 6 currently under application, 5 registered trademarks and more than 60 copyrights registered with INDA. Regarding didactic material: she is the author of 4 books, 2 book chapters: Additionally, derived from the FSCSH project, she has documented three successful Technological Tests in the Subdirection of Exploitation Technique of PEMEX PEP.

In terms of awards granted, the following stand out: EMELITRA® technology was recognized by the Mexican Association of Managers of Applied Research and Technological Development (ADIAT), for which IMP received First Place in the ADIAT Award for Technological Innovation, 2016; the City of Mexico in 2011 conferred First Place in the Engineering Award in the Category of Outstanding Career in the Area of Chemistry; IMP granted the Human Resources Award, 2009 and the IMP Research Award, 2004.

Skip to content